CLASSIC ENCOUNTER: Barnet v Morecambe 2004/05

Last updated : 19 January 2010 By Jaybee

Barnet have not beaten Morecambe since they returned to the league in 2007. However, back in 2004 both teams were in the Nationwide Conference. The two sides met at Underhill at the beginning of September. Barnet had gone top of the table with a Bank Holiday Win at Canvey Island, Dean Sinclair scoring the only goal of the game for the Bees. It was their fourth win in five games. Morecambe had made quite a poor start and were 14th in the table with just 1 win and 5 points from 5 matches.

On a bright, sunny afternoon, Barnet made a lively start with star striker, Giuliano Grazioli forcing a fine save by Morecambe keeper, Adam Sollitt within the first few minutes. 

Morecambe should have gone ahead when Chris Blackburn headed straight at Bees’ keeper, Ricky Millard when unmarked in the six yard box. Soon after, Morecambe found themselves down to 10 men when defender, Keiron Walmsley was sent off for a second bookable offence after fouling Dean Sinclair. Despite having a numerical advantage, the Bees could not find a way through the Shrimps’ defence. Sollitt foiled a number of Barnet efforts and when he was beaten, Blackburn was on hand to clear off the line.

HT: Bees 0 Shrimps 0

Barnet were shocked when Morecambe took the lead through Terry McFlynn following careless play by Dwane Lee. Barnet’s response was immediate and two minutes later, a Richard Graham cross was swept home by Simon King, his first ever goal for the Bees. Ten minutes later, Grazioli ran on to a through ball and was brought down by Sollitt. Ian Hendon smashed home the penalty to put Barnet 2-1 up.

Soon after, Grazioli scored at the second attempt after Sollitt failed to hold on to Graz’s first effort. He then grabbed a second with a low header following good work on the right by Liam Hatch.

Two substitutes combined for the last goal, a neat through ball by Lee Roache finding Nicky Bailey to score his first ever goal for Barnet.

Barnet ended the season as champions and were promoted to League Two with Morecambe following them up from the Conference two years later.

FT: Bees 5 Morecambe 1

Barnet: Millard; Hendon, King, Yakubu, Clist; Sinclair (Bailey), Strevens, Lee (Lopez), Graham; Grazioli, Hatch (Roache).